Rick Bass wins The Story Prize for For a Little While!

Photo © Beowulf Sheehan

Photo © Beowulf Sheehan

A lively evening of interviews and readings with this year's three finalists culminated in author Rick Bass taking center stage at The New School's auditorium, accepting the top prize of $20,0000 for his collection, For a Little While. In 2007, Bass was also The Story Prize finalist for The Lives of Rocks. This year he emerged as the winner.  The other finalists were debut author Anna Noyes for Goodnight, Beautiful Women and Helen Maryles Shankman for They Were Like Family to Me.

The Story Prize is a $20,000 book prize awarded to the author of the collection of short stories named best of the year by a distinguished jury. 

The Story Prize ― which recognizes the best story collection to be published each year ― has quickly established itself as a nifty jewel in a writer’s crown.

The 2016 Story Prize Spotlight winner

Him, Me, Muhammad Ali by Randa Jarrar

We are now accepting entries for books published from
July through December 2017.

Entries are due November 15. 

The Story Prize partners